What awaits the Formula One betting enthusiasts in the Hungary Grand Prix?

What awaits the Formula One betting enthusiasts in the Hungary Grand Prix?

Hungary darts fans are gearing for a big event that will be happening from September 3rd to 5th 2021. The 2021 Hungarian Darts Trophy will be taking place at the Laszlo Papp Budapest Sports Arena. It is will be the first of the PDC European Tour event of the year. Mightytips is providing the Hungarian dart fans with darts fogadás tippek. Those who are looking for reliable information and tips on darts will find Mightytips useful as they bet on various games and players.

This is not the only big sporting event that Hungarian fans are enjoying this year; there was the 2021 Hungarian Grand Prix which was held on 1st August 2021. It is an event that betting fans enjoyed as they place bids on their favorite drivers and team. The winner of the race, Esteban Ocon was not the favorite; this means that many would have lost their bets as they banked on either Hamilton or Carlos Sainz Jr to take the day. In this article, we explore the Hungarian Grand Prix. We will look at its history the practice, the winners as well as the future expectation for this race.

The race is held annually since the year 1986 when it became part of the formula one event. It has since grown to be one of the most popular Formula One races in the European calendar. The Hungarian Grand Prix is not just known for its thrill and stiff competition, it is also famed for its perfect weather, the packed grandstands, and perhaps most of all the affordable prices that the spectators are charged. All this when added to the allure of the Hungaroring, the fans are offered an excellent event in the natural amphitheater.

What is its origin?

The Hungarian Grandprix history can be traced way back to 1936 when the first event was held over a five-kilometer track in Budapest. Among the teams that participated in the race include the Mercedez-Benz, Alfa Romeo, and Auto Union. The event attracted a huge crowd but the ensuing political situation and war meant that it could not continue.

Actually, in the next fifty years, nothing much was heard about the Hungarian Grand Prix. The political events which led to the fall of the Iron Curtain are instrumental to the return of the racing event in 1986. The first race was to take place this year attracting huge crowds once again.

The following drivers have won the race since its inception in 1986:

  • Lewis Hamilton has won it eight times with his latest wins being 2018, 2019 and 2020
  • Michael Schumacher has won it four times; 1994,1998, 2001 and 2004
  • Ayarton won the race in 1988, 1991 and 1992
  • Nelson Piquet in 1986 and 1987
  • Damon Hill in 1993 and 1995
  • Jacques Villeneuver in 1996 and 1997
  • Mika Hakkinen in 1999 and 2000
  • Jenson Button in 2006 and 2011
  • Sebastian Vettel in 2015 and 2017

As for the constructors, McLaren has won eleven times, William and Ferrari seven times each, Mercedes five times including 2019 and 2020 while Red Bull has won two times, in 2010 and 2014.

Mercedes tops the manufacturers list having won the Hungarian Grand Prix 13 times including three-three year streaks of 2007-08, 2011-13, and 2018-2020. Renault has won for nine years; Ferrari and Honda have 7 and 6 wins consecutively.

The racing track

Hungarian Grand Prix is held in Hungaroring, a motorsport track that is located in Mogyorod. The track which is twisty and bumpy is difficult when it comes to overtaking, especially during dry conditions.

This is what has earned it the label “Monaco without buildings”. However, it is has been a venue where memorable racing events have been held including the debut race which was won by Nelson Piquet in 1986. More recently it has been the venue of the first wet race. The five-kilometer track is said to be similar to the Circuit de Monaco due to its tight and twisty corners.

2021 Hungarian Grand Prix

Held in August, the race was the eleventh of the 2021 F1 world championship. It was won by Esteban Ocon, a winner that not many F1 fans and betting enthusiasts expected to win. Many were rooting for a Lewis Hamilton win, given that he has been on a winning streak. He had won the race since 2018. The 2021 win would have made him a winner who has the most wins and also the driver with the longest winning streak in the history of the race.

Although Lewis Hamilton lost to Esteban Ocon, he moved up one position in the Championship standings after the race where he had 195 points, followed by Max Verstappen who dropped one position with 187 points. Lando Norris, Valtteri Bottas, and Sergio Perez maintained their positions with 113, 108, and 104 points respectively. Mercedes moved one point higher dislodging Red Bull Racing Honda while Ferrari, McLaren- Mercedes, and Alpine Renault were in second, third, and fourth positions respectively.

2022 Hungarian Grand Prix

Next summer, a time when Hungary is hot, the Formula One fan and betting enthusiasts will be again treated to a thrilling Hungarian Grand Prix 2022. As usual, the race is expected to be competitive. Will Esteban Ocon defend his title or will Lewis Hamilton claim back his title. These are questions that many Hungarians are asking. It will be exciting to see how each team performance.

Will Mercedes continue to be at the top of the table? Betting fans will need to make a decision, on which team they are rooting for as well as their driver of the day. Formula One betting sites will be full of action, The Hungaroring racing track will be an interesting place to be; as a spectator and also place bids for the drivers, manufacturers as well as constructors.