New Jersey DWI Lawyer

New Jersey DWI Lawyer


New Jersey laws regarding drinking while driving, driving while intoxicated (DWI), or driving while under the influence (DUI) seem to be the strictest in the U.S. They include a ban on DWI plea bargaining for lower charges. The first conviction of drinking while driving may cost you hundreds of dollars that are in fines for up to thirty days in jail, losing your driving privileges for up to ninety days, as well as additional and lasting financial consequences.

that will inevitably affect you in the future. A DWI conviction is going to remain on your record for potential employers, college officials, loan officers, and others to find during background checks.

It is crucial to have an experienced N.J. DWI defense attorney representing you if you are charged with driving while impaired or related to drinking while driving offenses in New Jersey. The criminal defense attorneys stationed at the Law Offices of Foreclosure Defense Lawyer have the best courtroom-tested legal experience required to defend you against DWI charges as well as seek the best possible results in your case.

What are the Types of DWI/DUI Cases that are Handled?

It is against the law in New Jersey to drive when having a BAC of 0.08 percent. It can be established through breath, blood, or urine tests. The threshold is 0.04% for trucks, buses, and other commercial drivers. However, if you consume alcohol and the police say that your driving will be negatively affected, you may be arrested and charged with drinking while driving.

DWI in New Jersey

A person younger than 21 will be found guilty of DWI when any detectable amount of alcohol in their blood is found while behind the wheel of their car.

It is also a great violation for a person to operate a vehicle when under the influence of narcotics, hallucinogens, or habit-altering drugs. If an impaired driving offense is based on the actual use of drugs, it is referred to as driving while under the influence of drugs (DUI).

Penalties for DWI and DUI  will grow harsher with continuous convictions, including prison time and thousands of dollars in fines.

A DWI lawyer at the Foreclosure Defense Lawyer will provide you with aggressive legal representation to fight the following impaired driving charges:

  • First Offense DWI
  • Second Offense DWI
  • Third Offense DWI
  • Underage DWI
  • Federal Court DWI
  • Marijuana DUI
  • Prescription Drug DUI
  • DWI / DUI Blood Test Refusals

What Are You Supposed to Understand from the Impact of the N.J. Driving While Intoxicated Statutes NJSA 39:4-50?

N.J.’s courts have coined “intoxication” as a “substantial deterioration of the mental abilities or physical capabilities of a person that results from the intake of alcohol or drugs—for t such laws in New Jersey, driving while under the influence (DUI), drinking while driving, and driving when intoxicated (DWI) are all similar.

New Jersey’s drinking while driving law (NJSA 39:4-50) and the penalties are very strict. You cannot plead a lesser offense when you are charged with Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey. Once you are convicted of a DWI offense, you will definitely lose your license. It means you cannot even get a limited driving permit if you are convicted of DWI. You may also be fined hundreds of dollars and may as well be jailed.

By law, any driver is considered intoxicated if they register a 0.08 percent blood alcohol content on a breath and blood test. But, in New Jersey, a driver may be convicted of DWI if they have ingested alcohol. The court is convinced through a police officer’s testimony that the driver had exhibited a “substantial deterioration of the mental abilities or physical capabilities.”

You may even be convicted for DWI in N.J. when you sleep in your car after drinking. You can be outside your vehicle when parked, locked, or not running and will still get arrested and convicted of DWI in N J.

Prosecutors have a professional obligation and capacity to win any convictions in DWI cases. We see that they are not there to give you any favors, but they are supposed to recognize that it will be more difficult to prosecute a lawsuit if the accused has a DWI lawyer.

What Are the Penalties for New Jersey Drunk Driving Convictions?

New Jersey DUI Penalties for violation of New Jersey drinking while driving laws are so severe and will grow harsher and harsher with a higher Blood Alcohol Count, and additional offenses will include:

  1. First Offense of DWI And DUI

With a BAC of 0.08-0.09 percent:

Fine of $250 to $400

Up to thirty days of jail time

ninety-days of suspension of driver’s license

Two six-hour classes at the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center for two days

With a BAC of 0.10 % or more:

Fine of $300 to $500

Up to thirty days in jail

seven- to twelve-month suspension of driver’s license

Two six-hour classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center for two days

Annual surcharge penalty of $1,000 for three years

  1. Second Offense

Fine of $500-$1,000

2 to 90 days in jail

2-year driver’s license suspension

48 consecutive hours of detainment in the regional Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

Annual surcharge penalty of $1,000 for three years

you must install an ignition interlock device for one to 3 years after license restoration

  1. Third Offense

$1,000 fine

180 days in jail

10-year driver’s license suspension

Detainment in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program

A fee is paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center per the decision made by the court

Annual surcharge penalty of $1,000 for three years

Install an ignition interlock device for 1 – 3 years after the license is restored

Any DWI / DUI conviction also requires the following:

A Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge of $100

A Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100

An Intoxicated Driving Program fee of $100

A Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50

A Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75

In conclusion

A judge may also order the revocation of the defendant’s vehicle registration.

Penalties increase if a DWI / DUI occurs in a school zone and school crossing.

A parent convicted of driving while intoxicated while having a passenger in the vehicle seventeen years or younger is also guilty of a disorderly person’s offense. They will lose driving privileges for up to 6 months and be required to perform community service for up to 5 days.

Read More: Why You Need Phoenix Truck Accident Attorneys